Community Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Home Forums The route of the Exodus through the Red Sea How many days and how far per day to the sea? Reply To: How many days and how far per day to the sea?

• Deborah Hurn

April 29, 2021 at 6:10 am

I don’t know if I have posted on this before, and haven’t time to make a thorough case, but will sketch it briefly.

For my MA thesis, I studied Passover Week. Part of the investigation of the 1st Passover in Egypt was to compare it to the 1st Passover in Canaan, forty years later. The similarities have relevance to the number of days’ travel to the Red Sea crossing because there is a strong correspondence of events with the Jordan River crossing.

Basically, the events of the week after the first Passover in Egypt match those of the week before the first Passover in Canaan. A comparison of these weeks, the first and last of the wilderness era, reveals a parallel structure: a departure (Rameses, Abel-shittim), a water-crossing (Red Sea, Jordan River), and a destination (Marah, Gilgal), all within the space of 8 days. There are so many comparisons, I can only allude to the necessary few:

From Joshua chs. 3-5: The people left Shittim early a.m. and camped at the edge of the Jordan (this is the 1st day). At the end of the 3rd day (i.e. 2 more days), they receive instructions for the crossing. The officers tell them they will cross “tomorrow” (the 4th day). They come up out of the water on the 10th day of Abib (Josh 4:19), and camp at Gilgal until Passover. We know that Passover is on the 14th. So Passover is on the 8th day after they left Abel-Shittim (which we can work out was on the 7th), inclusive.