Community Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Home Forums The route of the Exodus through the Red Sea The detour to a dead end – the different options Reply To: The detour to a dead end – the different options

• Frederick W. Baltz

January 17, 2021 at 3:08 pm

Hello, Deborah,

You have asked…

· to be directed to where Aqaba-crossing proponents have made serious efforts to reconcile all the itinerary data (i.e. all the geographical data, both biblical and extra-biblical).

· What success have they had?

· How has their Mount Sinai identity improved the clarity of the wilderness narrative?

Let me first say again that I am not a proponent of Nuweiba as the crossing site. In fact, I believe it cannot be the crossing site because of the role the wind must play according to the text. The same would be true for the Straits of Tiran. I am not necessarily a proponent of Jebel al-Lawz as Sinai. I do think Sinai was a volcanic mountain, and I am still trying to learn whether that in any way applies to Lawz. It certainly seems that the answer is no, but some say at least some of the rock there is volcanic. I have more work to do on that question. I think the more serious contenders are a volcano in the Harrat Rahah , and Hala-l-Bedr. In my reading of the events in Exodus, the Pillar of Cloud and Fire is best explained by a volcano. I realize that theophany is involved here, but that does not eliminate a physical, historical basis for the theophany. I also realize that cloud and fire were later at the Tabernacle and in the Temple. So we have something that in one instance is large enough to separate an army from an encamped people, and in another instance is small enough to fit within a building. That would suggest that the theophanic manifestations were not based on just one physical phenomenon.